03 YZ450F Won't Start

9 replies to this topic
  • BigBearzFan

Posted July 23, 2007 - 04:46 PM

Here are the details. I am new to the 4 stroke scene. Had lots of 2 strokes. Went riding yesterday with my son and couldn't get the bike to fire at all. Changed the plug and it seemed somewhat gassy. We ended up pull starting it and it ran for about 3 laps. But it seemed to act as if was choking. It died and hasn't started yet. The carb was cleaned this spring and the bike has been riden at least twice amonth since April. The last couple times out it had been getting harder and harder to start. I have had the bike about a year and have done no engine work to it besides oil changes and carb cleaning. A couple of guys at the track said the top end probably needs redone. What are some thoughts? Carb problems or top end? It has good spark. What kind of compression should I seen on a gauge? Any help would be great.. Thanks

• whyzee79

Posted July 23, 2007 - 04:49 PM

Check the idle. Last time I ran into that quirkiness was when it was too low. Just a quick easy idea. :)

• BigBearzFan

Posted July 23, 2007 - 05:07 PM

I have moved it from 1 extreme to the other. It didn't help

• 642MX

Posted July 23, 2007 - 05:14 PM

Have you checked the valve clearances?

• BigBearzFan

Posted July 23, 2007 - 05:19 PM

No, Would that be al ogical place to start

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Quack

Posted July 23, 2007 - 05:24 PM

I would prolly go thru the carb again first. What readings are you getting on the compression guage? Remember there is a compression release on these bikes, so getting a reading might take a special guage. Checking valve clearance is not a bad thing to look at also. When did you clean your air filter last? Make sure the accelerator pump in the carb isnt tore.

• BigBearzFan

Posted July 23, 2007 - 05:27 PM