2 stroke terms

9 replies to this topic
  • Way Fast Whitey

Posted July 20, 2007 - 05:33 PM

it has come to my attention that i have no clue what pinging is :thumbsdn:

could i be mistaking "a rattling noise" for pinging?

pinging is the same thing as detonation right? the air/fuel mix burns, or starts to before the piston is on its way back down?

sorry 2 stroke newbie here :bonk:

thanks guy one of my last newbi posts, honest.

• HawkGT

Posted July 20, 2007 - 07:33 PM

"Pinging" is another term for detonation--as is "knocking". These terms arose from being descriptors of the audible signal that can be heard (usually) when detonation is taking place. Detonation is known by a few other names as well, including spark knock and auto-ignition (not to be confused with PRE-ignition--that's a different phenomenon).

Detonation is when the end-gasses around the edges of the combustion chamber detonate (i.e. explode) rather then deflagrate (i.e. burn). "End-gas" is the term for the last part of the mixture to be consumed within the combustion chamber. In engines with a more or less centrally located spark plug these end-gases reside all around the parameter of the combustion chamber. Detonation is a type of combustion that is abnormal while deflagration is the normal burn that is suppose to happen.

Here's what happens: