Jetting 00 WR400 with YZ timing?

7 replies to this topic
  • ScottyR

Posted May 26, 2000 - 06:47 AM

I am sure someone has asked this before but I am really new to these 4 stroke monsters so please forgive this stupid question!! I have a Canadian WR400 with the stock pipe and I want to switch it to YZ timing. My local dealer is not really into dirt bikes and tells me I dont have to switch the jetting but other people say I have to. What do you guys recommend for a 2000 WR? DVP needles are hard to get so I am finding, is there an alternative? I ride at about 1000 ASL. What about removing the airbox lid? Does it make a big improvement? Thanks guys!! Scotty

• James_Dean

Posted May 26, 2000 - 10:59 AM

Canadian Eh? The needle should be a DRQ. You are in luck, DRQ is nearly the same as DVP, only 2 clips richer. ( DRQ#3 equals DVQ#5 ) The straight diameter is slightly leaner (Q vs. P). The only changes I would suggest is a #45 or #48 pilot jet and a bigger main such as 175-180 with the lid off.

**** Side note - The stock clip position DRQ#4 looks VERY rich (like DVP#6) and could be a source of plug fouling at 1/4 throttle. You may want to experiment with a leaner clip position.***

My needle taper evaluation is in progress for the '00WR and there will be more power at 3/4 throttle when the best one is found....

James Dean

[This message has been edited by James Dean (edited 05-26-2000).]

[This message has been edited by James Dean (edited 05-28-2000).]

• RodH

Posted May 26, 2000 - 09:01 PM