Commitment

17 replies to this topic
  • Scrambler

Posted May 16, 2000 - 03:06 PM

You all may not really be too interested in my following statement but here it goes.

I've been riding motorcycles since I was 4 years old, I am 32 now. I only had one two stroke in all of those years and it didn't last long. None of my bikes were upto racing standards and no where near the wr 400. At the age of twenty I had a serious back injury, not related to riding. At any rate I coulndn't ride much for about ten years. At the ripe old age of thirty, I bought another old beater and started getting the bug again. To my amazement, my back didn't suffer much from the abuse. I soon bought a new dual sport DR350. I had that about a month and decided I wanted a dirt bike. Sold the DR and bought an RMX250. A few months went by and I decided I wanted to try racing for the first time. I bought a WR400 and within a couple of weeks I got in the toughest race in the country (the 100 mile Moose Run) at 31 years old. What an experience!!!

At any rate (HEY WAKE UP I'M NOT DONE YET!), I continued racing and quiet frankly I am beginning to get very pissed off at myself. I have always been a good athlete. Virtually every sport I've tried I have been good at, except this one (harescrambles). This is by far the most demanding and difficult sport I have ever been involved in. I've been in about 12 races now and I am doing good to break into the top half of the 250B class and that my friend is a rare occurance. I've never finished last but I've been darn close several times.

The last race I was in is the first harescramble I wasn't able to finish (I guess I was last in that race). I went over a log way to fast and my rear tire kicked straight up and pinned my face against the front fender. I rode a front wheel wheelie about 15 feet until making the aquaintance of a very rude tree. Can you believe it tried to break my arm the first time we met?