Cam shaft caps problem. Help needed.

5 replies to this topic
  • kubamtx

Posted July 17, 2007 - 03:53 AM

Hello
I'm new in 4 strokes but I have mechanical experience. Today I decided to adjust my valve clearances. They was 0,09 on one intake, 0,17 and 0,19 on exhaust so not bad but the job has to be done. So I removed cams and mesured shims and then I took a look on my cam shaft caps and ..take a look on pictures.
http://www3.speedysh...51/S5000528.JPG
http://www3.speedysh...43/S5000532.JPG
I bought this bike month ago changed the oil and had 4 rides so that's not my fault.
The cams are ideal , bearings to.
Cam seats in cylinder head are ideal to.
Tell me what to do?
What I have to replace?
These scratches aren't deep. On the intake I would say that the surface doesn't look like a mirror that's everything. And on the exhoust I removed this black burnt oil with my finger nail.

• FLjoyride

Posted July 17, 2007 - 04:08 AM

pictures don't work

• kubamtx

Posted July 17, 2007 - 06:29 AM

Thanks. Now pictures works

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • FLjoyride

Posted July 17, 2007 - 07:26 AM

looks OK, but pick up some plasti gages and measure cap to cam clearance to be sure. The bearings on my 04 were way worse and I am still running them with no problems.

• grayracer513

Posted July 17, 2007 - 07:31 AM

The scratching looks very minor, and I'd probably remove them by hand using a ScotchBrite pad. These, if you are not familiar with them, are an abrasive pad resembling steel wool, but made from plastic. The advantage is that they don't shed grit or pieces of wire. If there are none available, use steel wool or fine sandpaper and dress the scratches up just enough to remove the metal that is raised above the original surface. Clean THOROUGHLY and reassemble it.