the right procedure to start a 426

11 replies to this topic
  • 426kid

Posted July 11, 2007 - 02:26 PM

any body no the right way im new to the thumper gamee nnn i need some advice

• 02YZ426

Posted July 11, 2007 - 07:01 PM

Cold start, wick the throttle twice, bring the piston to TDC, then pull the decomp lever and move the kick start 1 inch so its just past TDC. Then give it one big kick. For a warm engine do the same thing except pull the hot start on the carb and don't wick the throttle. If you install a auto decomp cam starting will be 10 times easier for you.

• felix 222

Posted July 11, 2007 - 07:09 PM

there have been about 967674@89384 threads asking the same question.

1. choke if cold / hot start if hot
2. find tdc (i like 10 o'clock)
3. all the way back up
4. kick all the way through
5. turn off choke / hot start

touching the throttle has mostly created problems for me while starting. when it does work well for me: crash...flooded...wont start...kick through...2 wide open twists of the throttle...kick through a time or two....then go through normal starting process

don't immediately jump on the hot cam band-wagon. the starting process shouldn't be a problem after 5 rides at most unless valves need adjusting. mine starts 1 kick while cold and 3 on average when hot.

• 1rkcooper

Posted July 12, 2007 - 08:25 PM

Go to the bottom of this page there are hot and cold start videos that originated from Yamaha.

• Dustin_Mabro

Posted July 13, 2007 - 07:54 AM

Step 1: Install Decomp Cam
Step 2: Kick Efortlessly

• Type Gendy

Posted July 13, 2007 - 11:06 AM

Is it required to use the hot start button when riding? I only use my 1 outa 10 times when it wont start on the second kick. 99% of the time starts first kick without the hot start (havent dumped it yet)

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • grayracer513

Posted July 13, 2007 - 12:28 PM