can you help this novice?

8 replies to this topic
  • Guest_Guest_*

Posted April 05, 2000 - 12:34 PM

Hello people.

As a road rider of some years I thought I new everything about riding motorcycles.

How wrong I was.
I recently bought myself a new WR 400 and was amazed to find how different offroad riding is to riding on the road.

The bottom line is that I need some advice on stuff like:-.

How to jump properly,

How to corner on loose/slippery surfaces

etc.. etc...

so..... can you help this complete novice??

• Nathan_In_So_Cal

Posted April 05, 2000 - 12:49 PM

Get the book "Pro Motocross and Off-Road Motorcycle Riding Techniques " by Gary Semics and Donny Bales. A veritable plethora of riding information.

------------------
Nathan Apelbaum
99 WR400F
97 YZF1000
99 400EX
95 RA1100

• JamesD

Posted April 05, 2000 - 03:25 PM

That and learn like we did...

*crash* nope... that's not how.
*endo* I won't do that agian!
*wipeout* Son of a...

[This message has been edited by JamesD (edited 04-05-2000).]

• Dougie

Posted April 05, 2000 - 04:35 PM

I agree with JamesD. If I can give you any advice, it is to get the proper gear ASAP. You're going to need it.

I remember my first time on a dirtbike. It was in '92 and it was on my brother in law's old Yamaha 250 four stroke. All I had on in gear was an open face helmet I picked up that day at a Goodwill and steel toed boots. I pulled out on to a Rampart Range trail for the first time ever and preceeded to immediately dump it. I scraped up both arms and knees.

After that, I would add gear as I hurt things until I had a full setup a couple of years later. Now I never ride anywhere without my Fox Helmet, jersey, pants, chest protector, elbow guards, knee pads, kidney belt, boots and goggles.

Once you get the gear, then you can start on your technique which is only going to come from practice. Trial and error my friend. Books and tapes would be the best way to go for advice.

------------------
Dougie, '99 WR400