Ty tank troubles, need advice!

10 replies to this topic
  • Vincent

Posted October 17, 2000 - 06:35 AM

Ok, finally got semi caught up on the honey-do's enough to put my new Ty tank on last night. Let me preface this by saying I am a professional aircraft mechanic (so its not lack of ability here!).

I was overlooking the poor quality of the molding (tons of air bubbles, razor trimmed seams, etc.) and going ahead with the install.

I got to the point Clark Mason warned us all about...mounting the auxillary petcocks. Let me say, they felt cross threaded right from the start. I dont know if they were intentionally designed for an interference fit to stop leakage, but they certainly dont screw in well at all. If I had a tap and die set that size I would have chased the threads before going any further.

Anyway, I got only about 2 to 3 threads in (very gently, easing them back and forth as if cutting threads) and decided the angle of the barb fitting was wrong on each one of them, tried to gently reposition both of them and the brass inserts started spinning in the plastic!!! Im not real impressed with the quality of this tank to say the least.

I went ahead with a dry install to see if I even wanted to request a replacement from Montclair Yamaha.

Once it was all installed, I realized there is only one way to reach my choke button. Get way down low on one knee, hold tongue just right, feel around all the plumbing on the carb till you feel the choke button with the tip of your middle finger, try to get the choke knob out with that finger tip (using no leverage). Im at about a 50% success rate on getting the choke to stay out. Then resetting the knob will take the same drill of reaching around with same middle finger trying to reset the choke knob.

There has to be a better way!! I will say in defense of the tank, it fits awesome. Its super skinny, holds it weight low, and looks really trick on the bike. It causes absolutely no puckering of the seat either.