Header Pipe

4 replies to this topic
  • Guest_Guest_*

Posted September 29, 2000 - 09:44 PM

I'm new to the four stroke world and I think I picked a wenner going with a 2000 WR400. I do mostly woods (hare scramble) type riding, but every now and then I hit the track. Last weekend I really hit the track, after lauching over a forty foot table top and coming down on the front wheel, then sliding the bike on it's right side. The guard, I guess to protect you from getting burnt(certainly not to protect the header pipe), caught the ground and folded my header pipe. Instead of paying someone to straighten it, I figured I get a new one. I've searched the archives and gathered WB makes a tapered pipe that, improves low end? FMF makes a dual pipe that probally improves high end? The bike has gobs of low end, so I'm not concerned about that, I would like to do something about the mid range but don't want to hurt the low end. The archives say alot about pipes but not header pipes. I guess it would be nice to able to change the oil filter without taking the pipe off, but its really easy to get it off. I have no plans of changing the gas tanks. Do y'all have any suggestions? Thank you.

• So_Cal_Erik

Posted September 29, 2000 - 04:16 PM

Get the DMC headpipe or the FMF powerbomb header, they both seem to work well. I have used the DMC with the stock WR and YZ mufflers with much improved bottom/ mid gains, without losing any top end. I sold the header recently though as a package deal to another thumperhead. Erik

------------------
So Cal Erik
Visit my club's site at <A HREF="http://www.ruts.org
" TARGET=_blank>www.ruts.org
</A>

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Clark_Mason

Posted September 29, 2000 - 05:02 PM

the FMF Powerbomb header works excellent and is a quality piece of equipment. I canot recommend it enough. It has worked excellent for me.

Clark

• Shane_In_Washington