Frame Geometry

4 replies to this topic
  • kwb

Posted June 26, 2007 - 01:03 PM

Hi guys, I have a question regarding the differences (if any) between 450's from other manufactures (Honda, Kawa, suzuki...ect)

I have always ridden Yz's, started on a YZ80 when I was 12 and had several 125 and 250's (all 2 strokes). I have been riding for 25 years and last year I bought a CR450 because I heard so many good things about it. The build quality was the best I've seen on any dirt bike, but I never felt comfortable on it. The ride seemed harsh, the bike was tall and thin and it just felt strange. I sold the bike after about 6 rides and now I'm considering trying another 450 this Fall.

I'm wondering if I felt uncomfortable since I am used to riding Yamaha's, or if it was becasue it was my first 4 stroke.

Do all manufactures use the same basic geometry on their frames? I know some use a 'perimeter frame' design, not sure if that makes a difference or not. Also, in photos the KX, 08RM and CR looks like they all use the same frame....

Thanks.

• grayracer513

Posted June 26, 2007 - 02:11 PM

The steering geometry is subtly different between the two bikes, but the harshness you speak of is not a product of that as much as of the suspension itself, particularly the front fork. The Honda feels harsh to most people unless ridden very hard, whereas the '06 and later YZF's are surprisingly plush and supple for stock suspension.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • warrior86

Posted June 26, 2007 - 06:52 PM

i think every bike has a distinct feel. I had an 04 yz250f and now have an 07 yz450. Although i was amazed at the light feel and overall improvement even when compared to my 250f, there is a distinct diffence between any yamaha i have ridden and a hona or suzuki for that matter. Even when comparing older models, each brand has a characteristic feel. A97 cr125 still feels like a honda. I dunno what it is.