Learning to ride on a WR450?

33 replies to this topic
  • AK-Bandit

Posted June 25, 2007 - 07:46 AM

Hello all. Like the title insinuates, I'm new to dirtbiking. But I can get dealer pricing on a new Yamaha bike. The problem is I cant decide if I should go with the WR250 or the 450. I've heard great things about the WR's and I really like the looks of them. I've only ever ridden a dirtbike twice. A 2-stroke 250 and a 4-stroke 250. I loved it! Half my buddies tell me to get the 250, and the other half tell me to get the 450 :thumbsup:
I'm just looking for something to have fun on, but something I wont outgrow. It would be ridden on mixed terrain...sand, hard dirt, loose dirt, gravel, hills, creeks, etc. Basically, an offroad trail bike. If its of any importance, I'm 25years old, 6'4" 220lbs.
What do you guys think? Is the WR450 too much for a beginner?

Thanks,
Jay

• Solo

Posted June 25, 2007 - 08:58 AM

Get the 450 so you wont out grow it like you say. Ride it in it's stock configuration till you get more confident on the bike. As that happens you can start doing the free mods to really open up the power hidden inside.

An uncorked 450 is a monster! As it comes out of the box it's got some mild maners.

• Vegemite_luva

Posted June 25, 2007 - 09:01 AM

I was in the a similar situation a few months ago whereas I was getting back into dirtbiking after 15 years. I got a great deal on a 450 and went for it. I am only 5'8" and sure I struggle a bit in the tight stuff but I would probably struggle with a 250 too. I just need to get better.

In my opinion you should get the 450 but do the free mods such as grey wire and exhaust baffle as your skills increase. You are a big guy and the 250 will have to endure more punishment which most likely translate into more maintenance costs over the long term. Just take it easy on the throttle. Sure the 250 will be a bit more manueverable in the tight technical stuff but you are tall enough to handle the 450.