Engine noise 450

27 replies to this topic
  • yzfjbw323

Posted June 24, 2007 - 07:19 AM

Hey guys I am very new to this 4 stroke thing
I bought a 2007 yz450 used, it seems to me there is alot of engine noise, most notably a slight clicking sound. Not having a manual yet I am scared to even touch the engine other than oil changes, do you think the clicking is a serious problem or am I a uneducated 4-stroke rider?

• warrior86

Posted June 24, 2007 - 08:06 AM

i believe it is normal. Mine had it since day one. No problems so far and it has 30 hours on it. It is disconcerting but you get used to it.

• berudd

Posted June 24, 2007 - 08:19 AM

I rode one and it did not have a click noise but there was a lot of racket in the engine. I noticed a difference when I pulled in the clutch. The owner said it was normal.

• yzfjbw323

Posted June 24, 2007 - 08:31 AM

Thanks guys
any other tips you can give me on the bike?

• 642MX

Posted June 24, 2007 - 08:40 AM

Go to the local MX track and listen to other YZ's and make sure the noise is similiar.

• Slinkyman16

Posted June 24, 2007 - 02:26 PM

its normal.. mine does the same thing. yamis have very noisy engines, yami adressed this in the new 08.

• kyle450rider

Posted June 25, 2007 - 12:47 AM

yah,its normal.Mine only has 13 hours on it and the clicking noise drives me nuts.I swear that it didnt make it when new.

• UltraHyper

Posted June 25, 2007 - 03:08 PM

Mine so noisy all my friends think it going to grenade anytime

• WB450

Posted June 25, 2007 - 05:15 PM

Funny, every time I stop and pull in the clutch, I think holly shit this thing makes a lot of noise, but it's normal. Where in ID?

• warrior86

Posted June 25, 2007 - 05:34 PM

im curious, does anyone know if this "clankyness" plagues only the "all new" 06/07 motors or is it all year 450's?

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • yzfjbw323

Posted June 25, 2007 - 05:49 PM