WR vs YZ vs XR

10 replies to this topic
  • BlueDog

Posted September 05, 2000 - 01:20 PM

I'm pushing 40 yrs old and weigh about 175 at 5'10". I have been riding for about 8 months on a ’99 YZ 125 mostly on cross country tracks/trails around North Texas. The terrain is hard with some sand and rocks with some decent size hills. The bike really does well for the most part. The problem is that I'm really pulled to the four-stroke world. The XRs and WRs. I like the idea of more low-end torque on hill climbs and not being concerned with staying 'on the pipe'. Plus I might be able to idle for more than a minute without fouling a plug.

The weight of the YZ 125 is around 220 lbs. and feels pretty good. The four strokes seem to be a bit heavier. Also, the YZ 125 feels pretty nimble around the trails.

Any ideas on a four stroke that I might like? I'm afraid the WR400 may a bit too much bike for me but I've never ridden one. The 2001 WR250 sounds interesting. I wonder what the hill climbing capabilities would be. I'm not really a go-fast guy either. I rarely get out of third gear.

So, maybe in summary I'm looking for a light, nimble bike that is full of low-end torque.

Any comments or suggestions will be appreciated.

[This message has been edited by BlueDog (edited 09-05-2000).]

[This message has been edited by BlueDog (edited 09-05-2000).]

[This message has been edited by BlueDog (edited 09-08-2000).]

• James_Dean

Posted September 05, 2000 - 02:51 PM

Suggestions to consider-
4-stroke:XR250, KLX250, WR250
2-stroke:KTM200EXC, 250EXC, 300EXC

• Gary_Kessler

Posted September 05, 2000 - 03:37 PM

Or the Yamaha TTR-250 or 225 (basic bike)

• Guest_Guest_*

Posted September 05, 2000 - 04:28 PM

If you want a good trail bike with good low end but power enough to climb hills go for the xr400-not much heavier or taller than the 250 but world of difference with the power.

• Guest_Guest_*

Posted September 05, 2000 - 05:01 PM