00 wr 400 idle

5 replies to this topic
  • glenn

Posted February 08, 2000 - 11:49 AM

Just picked up my new W.R. on 2/5. On cold starting it seems to have an unusally high rpm idle with choke on. Anyone else experience this?

• Dougie

Posted February 08, 2000 - 12:51 PM

My 99 is doing the same thing. It idles very high with choke on and when I turn the choke off it will die shortly after. I have yet to find a common ground. It just started doing this a couple of months ago.

• Mitch_from_Oz

Posted February 08, 2000 - 01:18 PM

Hey guys,

I am not an expert, but it sounds like there may be something sticking in the carb. Maybe there is some dirt, OR, the dreaded cracked slide... AGGGGGHHHHHHH :)

------------------
Motard Mitch

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Guest_Guest_*

Posted February 08, 2000 - 02:53 PM

ONCE I TURN THE CHOKE OFF IT IDLES AT NORMAL RPM RANGE.

• phil

Posted February 08, 2000 - 06:05 PM

Isn't the increase in rpm due to the enriched fuel mixture with the choke on? I have seen several other types of 4-strokes do this, also. Nothing was wrong with them or their carburetion. I personally wouldn't worry about it. As for it stalling when you turn off the choke, isn't that because the motor isn't warmed up completely?

• Mike

Posted February 08, 2000 - 07:26 PM

Originally posted by Glenn:
Just picked up my new W.R. on 2/5. On cold starting it seems to have an unusally high rpm idle with choke on. Anyone else experience this?

I have a oowr and it did the same.Change to a 50pj @ 2out.I found the jet at a honda dealer,Yamaha was on backorder,I bet every new wr needs one.

x

Join Our Community!

Even if you don't want to post, registered members get access to tools that make finding & following the good stuff easier.

If you enjoyed reading about "" here in the ThumperTalk archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join ThumperTalk today!