Applying Graphics

15 replies to this topic
  • crf_ride

Posted June 11, 2007 - 03:23 PM

I am going to get new graphics for my bike but I am wondering how to put them on. do i need to get new plastics, put them over the old ones or take off the old ones and put on new? Also, I am thinking of getting the factory effects monster energy http://www.factoryef...ductid=10-12326 do you think they would look good with any of these http://www.decalmx.com/mxbkgs.ihtml ? anyways thanks for your help.:thumbsup:

• bktobk3233

Posted June 11, 2007 - 03:39 PM

I'm no expert, but my last grahics kit went on just fine. I put mine right over the old ones (after I cleaned them off of course). I used a blow dryer to heat the graphic a little, and sprayed water onto the plastic panel. Then I put the graphic on while working the water out to the edges and heating the whole thing with the blow dryer. The heat makes everything soft so you can pull and turn the graphic (gently) right where you want it. The heat also makes it easier applying those graphics on the curved surfaces. The water lets the graphic slide just enough for you to do all this and gives you a small margin for error. I would also spray the surface of the graphic so it was smoother and cooler on my hands to manipulate it since I was afraid to use something that would scratch the shiny new graphic (that's what riding's for:thumbsup: ). It was a hot-water-friction-stretchy kind of a deal. A little patience will be rewarded (if you use this method).

I'm sure there's a better way, but I'm not that smart.:thumbsup:

• 125shifter

Posted June 11, 2007 - 04:48 PM

Windex
Heat gun (not hair dryer)

* Spray windex generously over the area where they are to be applied.
* Remove backing
* Place approximate center of graphic on approximate center of plastic.
* Ensure tight graphic corners will properly align in areas like air box, holes, etc.
* Heat the graphic (carefully) w/ the heat gun and they'll really loosen up.