GYTR Flywheel question 05 YZ 450

4 replies to this topic
  • gcally

Posted June 11, 2007 - 04:00 AM

I did some searching but did not find the answers I was looking for. I am going to be riding my new 05 450 in the woods only and I wanted to get a GYTR off road flywheel. I checked the Yamaha web site and they list the 6 oz fitting the 06-07 and the 9 oz fitting the 03-05. My question is does the 9oz also fit the 05? Also should I go with a 9oz or 6oz for woods in eastern PA. I know that the power was a little bit smoother on the 05 compared to previous years. I also might get a rekluse if I still have stalling issues. How much weight does the rekluse add? Should I have a 6oz or 9oz if I also install the rekluse.

Sorry for all the question but I am new at this off road thing.

• grayracer513

Posted June 11, 2007 - 08:12 AM

The GYT-R flywheels are not listed by added weight, but by total inertia mass, which is either calculated or measured, but is not a direct function of the weight added. The '06-'07 flywheels have a different form factor from the earlier ones, and are not interchangeable.

The heavier "off-road" flywheel is still listed for the '05 (GYT-5TA97-50-50), as is the lighter "racing" version (GYT-5TA97-50-00). These two are OEM flywheels with a machined weight ring added to them, same as the Dr.D flywheels. To compare, the lighter flywheel is roughly 5oz heavier than stock, and the "off-road" is about 7.5oz heavier.

One of the main differences between the GYT-R and the Dr.D, other than the specific Weight, is that you buy the GYT-R outright, and the Dubach flywheels are purchased as an exchange. This works out very nicely, as you can buy the Dr.D, front the core charge, and send him yours later. He reverses the core charges very quickly, BTW. He will also exchange the flywheel for an alternative weight indefinitely, and any number of times, on the same basis, so you don't have to worry about getting stuck with the wrong one.