How do you pick a downed 650 up?

36 replies to this topic
  • janner

Posted June 10, 2007 - 06:04 PM

Whats the best way to pick up a 650 on its side?.......I have been grabbing one side of the handle bar and also grabbing some frame underneath the rear fender.....but am now thinking that this may be a weak spot?.......Any tips?

Thanks.

• tmartinLVNV

Posted June 10, 2007 - 07:40 PM

Mine has been down many many times on all sorts of inclines (new rider learning dirt). I just grab both handles and pull it up.

• JR650

Posted June 10, 2007 - 08:07 PM

I always jus grab both bars and pull it up. mine is an r though, maybe l is worse?

• J_T

Posted June 10, 2007 - 09:13 PM

I've Grabbed the rear fender just where it attaches...(I try to grab part of the rear seat as well but I have been using that since 2001 and when I pull the end around to park it in the garage.

• Phuzzy McPhuzzface

Posted June 11, 2007 - 06:30 AM

There used to be a video or slides of a woman picking up something like a Honda Valkyrie. She'd back up to the seat, squatted, put one hand on the lower handle bar, and another toward the rear of the bike, and use her legs for the lift. Made it look easy.

If you are facing the bike, you end up using your back, and it is hard on your back, plus you don't get much leverage.

I also like to lock the front brake (if it's not in gear or I can't get it into gear) so the bike doesn't "get any ideas" midway through trying to raise it.

Here's the links: http://ibmwr.org/otech/pickup.html
http://www.pinkribbo...om/dropped.html

(OK, so forget the girly aspect---there is good advice here, especially for narrow trails with drop-offs, or other awkward places we like to fall and stall in, etc. :thumbsup:

• frogman

Posted June 11, 2007 - 06:32 AM

I lay on the side of the trail, screaming like the dickins, and let my riding buddies lift that pig off of me.

• janner

Posted June 11, 2007 - 07:40 AM

Grow BIG BALLS