Starting technique 83 XL600R

8 replies to this topic
  • IBMcpa

Posted June 09, 2007 - 08:19 PM

Newbie here - picked up an 83 XL600R about a month ago, but it's sat virtually unused because it's nigh impossible to start without the ever present fear of having my right knee snapped backwards or slow death from a heart attack. have had a fair share of vintage Honda twins and fours, but this is my first thumper -have never had to deal with compression release before. No choke cable on the bike, but that didn't keep the prior owner from starting this thing first kick each time, even when cold.

If you had to describe to a dim-bulb like me how to successfully start one of these things, how would you go about it.?

Help, please!

• butcharin

Posted June 10, 2007 - 10:45 AM

My 85 600R starts fist kick. Well kinda. I turn on the choke lever on the side of the carb. Pull the decomp lever and slowly kisk through about four times. I then let of the decomp lever and slowly kick untill I feel the compresion. I let the kick starter back to the top and then give it a good hard kick, never touching the throttle. Let it warm for a minute or two, turn off the choke let it run then go for it. It has yet to let me down (except when i forgot to turn on the gas :) ) Good Luck! :thumbsup:

• Huffa 2

Posted June 10, 2007 - 12:22 PM

I remember when I had my 83 that once it got down to say 35-40 degrees, FORGET IT :thumbsup: you might as well of parked the thing and tarp it till spring time!

Still the most fun bike I ever had though, when it did start :)

• IBMcpa

Posted June 12, 2007 - 09:22 AM

I've watched an older 200cc model w/ some sort of actuated decompression mechanism - when you start to kick, something in the kicking mechanism pulls the decomp valve open; just prior to the bottom of the kick stroke the mechanism snaps the decomp valve shut.