xr 650 l, Any hope for medium framed riders?

24 replies to this topic

Posted May 26, 2007 - 07:26 PM

Hello All, I'm new to TT, like what I have seen so far!

Are all of you xr 650 l riders over 6'? I am 5' 8" and 220 and am considering this bike.
Is there any riders of this bike out there at 5' 6,7,or 8? How do you manage it?
How much does the supension lower when you set down on it?
Can the suspension be lowered any without greatly hurting performance?

I wish honda made this bike in a 300 or 350 persuasion.
Thanks for any answers you can provide. Joey S aka 308

• mrgolly

Posted May 27, 2007 - 12:37 AM

Hi I am 5 10 and found the beast a little tall and heavy for my size . I have just traded it in on a crf 450x, mucher lighter and easier to handle , It all depends on what sort of riding you prefer .

• MartinDKtm

Posted May 27, 2007 - 04:35 AM

Im 5'8" at 180lbs and like the ride. I did not lower the suspension. I've always like the big bikes. Suspension get down a little bit when sit on. Im on my toe tip when stopping but I dont really care. I don't ride with my foot on the ground but on the pegs so no problem...Maybe 1 or 2% of the time spent on a bike is when you stop foot on the ground, 99% of the time left is foot on the peg so the compromise choice was easy to do.

• jbird710

Posted May 27, 2007 - 05:27 AM

My neighbor is about 5' 6". He bought a lowering link for the rear suspension and dropped the triple clamps down on the forks. He was talking about getting the seat shaved but hasn't done it yet. Here's the link to the TT store and the Devol lowering link. There are others out there to choose from. http://shop.thumpert...t.asp?p=852&s=2

• dezert thumper

Posted May 27, 2007 - 08:17 AM