05 YZ450F Valve Clearances

4 replies to this topic
  • neevothespaniel

Posted May 19, 2007 - 11:21 PM

This is a copy of a thread I started in the General section. On thinking I realised it should have been here. So...

Hello everyone,

Just picked up my first bike on Saturday, very happy to say the least. I have spent the weekend taking it apart to make sure everything is working ok and in good condition.

The bike is an 05 and has about 10 genuine hours on it. My question pertains to the valve clearances.

The guy I bought it off didn't have the clearances checked due to the amount of hours on the bike. I thought I would check them before I started using the bike and here's what I got from a cold engine:

Intakes: 8mm / 10mm / 10mm (spec range 10mm - 15mm)
Exhausts: 15mm / 18mm (spec range 17mm - 22mm)

Looks like I need to do some shimming.

I just wanted to check that this seemed right as its my first time doing this kind of thing. Do valves "bed in" when the bike is fairly fresh or are they moving too soon?

Also is there any way of knowing what shim's are in the motor at the moment or do I have to wait until I have them out to figure out what new shims I will need?

Your thoughts would be appreciated

• grayracer513

Posted May 20, 2007 - 10:24 AM

Do valves "bed in" when the bike is fairly fresh or are they moving too soon?

Also is there any way of knowing what shim's are in the motor at the moment or do I have to wait until I have them out to figure out what new shims I will need?

They don't usually bed in very much, if at all, but it does happen. The thing to do now is to correct them, and then recheck in another 5-10 to see if they have stabilized at that setting.