WRF450 vs CRF450X in Cali

5 replies to this topic
  • KennyMc

Posted May 15, 2007 - 06:32 AM

Newbie here, I currently ride a 2004 CRF450R (duck & cover) but I want to upgrade to a "green sticker" bike to increase the season to 12 months here in California. I plan to ride in the mountains with my son and I had a question concerning the smog removal process on the WRF450. Can the AIS be blocked or is the fix simply to remove it entirely? Once removed, will I get hassled by the rangers and told to park the bike?:applause: I believe the CRF450X just blocks the AIS stuff but the equipment is left on the bike so it would not be obvious to a ranger.

Thanks for any help with this.:applause:

• Just_a_trail_rider

Posted May 15, 2007 - 08:11 AM

Mine is removed on my wr450, but as I understand it, it doesn't hamper performance in anyway.

If I had known that they would potentially check for the stuff, I would have kept mine on.

To answer your question, I think that you should be able to block it off at the places where you would normally plug the holes. Then you'd just carry an extra 5lbs of stuff on your bike which would not be noticeable.

• KennyMc

Posted May 15, 2007 - 08:50 AM

So the main reason to take the AIS stuff off is to save weight, there really isn't any performace gain (other than what you get by reducing the weight)?

Of course since my fat a$$ is carrying 220lbs, any weight loss would be beneficial...

Has anyone been hassled by any rangers at Gorman or Big Bear about removal of smog stuff??

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • clark4131

Posted May 15, 2007 - 08:55 AM

You can disable it without removal so it will pass a visual from Woodsy Owl the eco-Nazi. How? I don't know...SC

• snaggletooth

Posted May 15, 2007 - 09:05 AM