1986 Xl600r

3 replies to this topic
  • NY_SXR700

Posted May 11, 2007 - 07:57 AM

Hello, I am new to this forum and new to my first bike. It's an 86' XL600R that is in pretty good shape. I know the past 2 owners and for $800.00 I could not pass it up. It has under 10,000 miles on it and has sat for the past 3 years.

I have done 3 oil changes and 1 filter change so far, to get the old stuff out (125 miles on it since I started riding it 3 weeks ago). I pulled the fuel filters and petcock for cleaning. I pulled the twin carbs last night because it does not like to idle very well. In that process I folowed the Clymer book and checked the jet sizes. I should have 118 main on the pri carb and 115 on the sec carb. I should also have a 62 pilot and I have a 65. I also noticed that the fuel screw needle was missing the washer and O-ring which I replaced last night also. My question is, are these jet sizes the correct sizes for upstate NY for normal on-off road riding? I pulled the plug and it was not bad it had white ash on it, not lean but not on the rich side. The jets in it are fatter so I feel safe there and it's not popping. The fuel screw was also set at 2.5 turns out and the book calls for 1.5. I set the screw with the new O-rin and washer to 1.5 and the bike has much more snap on the low end now. It still starts VERY hard and does not want to idle at the normal idle speed. I can't think of anything I missed so I am asking in here to see if you guys can help me out. tks Doug

• COAL RUN

Posted May 11, 2007 - 08:36 AM

There is a starting procdure on those bikes, Pull the comcompresion lever, kick is 3-4 times, then slowly cycle through kicking motion till you have it on the comcompresion stroke (should be about half way thru the kicking motion) Then kick it. should start in a couple kicks. If you are not doing this give it a try. I have an 1987 XL600R & it starts in 1-2 kicks