Try this again...

4 replies to this topic
  • DanielGalloway

Posted May 10, 2007 - 01:39 PM

I posted this in the jetting forum under the heading "Correct me if I'm wrong", but I didn't get any responses. So I thought I'd give it a shot here.

One of my pet peeves is seeing someone ask a question that has been covered before, and having a "veteran" tell them to use the search function. To keep myself from being the newb that gets slapped on the hand, I've done quite a bit of research involving various functions of different jets in the WR's carb. Here is my earlier post...

Newbie here, I've got an '06 WR450F that has had nothing done to it but the YZ throttle stop modification. When I get time, I'm going to perform all the free mods and dial in the jetting, so I've been researching and learning all I can about jetting. During this time, I set up a table that I think will help me keep everything straight in my mind. I'd like you guys to look it over and tell me what I've got wrong so that I can correct it. It may even be useful for other newbies like me who haven't been taking these carbs apart forever. Here it is:

[COLOR="Red"]Component - Circuit - Adjustments - Range
Fuel Screw - Pilot Circuit - Out to Richen, In to Lean - Primarily Idle to 1/4 throttle, although it has some affect through the entire throttle range.
Pilot Jet - Pilot Circuit - Bigger Size to Richen, Smaller to Lean - Idle to 1/4 throttle
Needle - Needle circuit - Raise Needle [COLOR="DarkGreen"](Lower needle clip)[/COLOR] (Higher Number) to Richen, Lower Needle [COLOR="DarkGreen"](Raise needle clip)[/COLOR](Smaller number) to Lean - 1/4 through 3/4 throttle
Main Jet - Main Circuit- Bigger Size to Richen, Smaller to Lean - 3/4 through Full throttle
Leak - Accelerator Pump Circuit-Bigger Size = [COLOR="DarkGreen"]Smaller[/COLOR], shorter Squirt, Smaller Size = [COLOR="DarkGreen"]Larger[/COLOR], longer Squirt. - Suddenly opened throttle from idle.