Bought a '94 XR600r - what now?

12 replies to this topic
  • FoolishMortal

Posted May 10, 2007 - 12:24 PM

First, I have been riding street bikes for 18 years and I'm an MSF RiderCoach.

However...

I'm a *complete noob* when it comes to dirt/SM. My plan is to SM the bike (it's street-legal) and keep the dirt wheels for off-road fun. I'm not especially mechanically inclined, but I can do stuff if I have good instructions. My question: what now? I'd love a laundry list of the free/cheap essential mods, tips and tricks to get me on my way. Yes, I know that I'll need to get a set of wheels - I'm looking more for the basics, such as:

Airbox
Carb
Breather tubes
Stator
Lights
Mirrors
???

Is there a resource with how-to guides that I can reference?

Thanks in advance. :applause:

• cleonard

Posted May 10, 2007 - 02:06 PM

There is really not all that much to do other than ride it.

Jetting, if it is stock it's too lean at low altitudes. A larger pilot really helps cold starting. I think that I run a 68S pilot and a 152, 155, or 158 main depending on altitude.

The airbox really is not that bad other than the snorkel and the foam element. I'm sure the snorkel is long gone already. The Honda foam element is a bit restrictive.

Exhaust. The stock pipe only has a tiny hole in the baffle. Replace the entire pipe or get another insert.

If you do constant high rpm wide open riding it will blow some oil out the breather even if the rings are in good condition.

If you want more light get a high output stator or just rewind it yourself.

The best reference here is the search feature. Use it to find what you need.

• FoolishMortal

Posted May 10, 2007 - 03:03 PM

I've definitely been using the Search function, but it would be nice to have all the answers in one place. :applause:

I got the bike with the following:

Cycra probend hand guards
SRC Fork Bace
SRC Fork Guards
Mudskin fork seal savers
Utah Sports skid plate
New Kenda trackmaster tires/new tubes/rim straps