Buying a 1999 YZ 400, anything to look for in specific?

10 replies to this topic
  • orangyktmthing

Posted May 03, 2007 - 09:02 PM

Hello all, I am pretty new to the four stroke scene. I am just moving up from my two stroke 250 to a 99 YZ 400 to do some trail riding and track riding (basically an all around machine). Is there anything in specific that I should be looking for condition wise or any inherent problems with this machine? Any information would be greatly appreciated! (I know a decent amount about the two smokers, but am a little behind on the fours.)

• PatrickM

Posted May 04, 2007 - 02:27 AM

I would look at the Fork seals and the rear shock seal. if they leak I would lower your price or dont buy it

I just bought myself a 99 YZ400 and about three rides in, The water pump seals and other water pump parts went out and started to leak fluid from the side of the pump housing.....

Is really an easy fix and the parts costed me a total of $50.....

I would also look at the condition of the radiator and other cooling parts....The YZ400's tend to heat up so the cooling system needs to be in good shape

Other than that, the normal bike things (that applied to your 2 stroker) still apply...

I really love the bike and you will not be disappointed!!!!!!

Good luck and I hope you find a great deal!!!!

Patrick M.

• moose offroad

Posted May 04, 2007 - 03:09 AM

Hello all, I am pretty new to the four stroke scene. I am just moving up from my two stroke 250 to a 99 YZ 400 to do some trail riding and track riding (basically an all around machine). Is there anything in specific that I should be looking for condition wise or any inherent problems with this machine? Any information would be greatly appreciated! (I know a decent amount about the two smokers, but am a little behind on the fours.)

Why would you buy a over-weight,out of date turd.........:applause:

• xr-jorger

Posted May 04, 2007 - 08:01 AM