something aint right

17 replies to this topic
  • copstop450

Posted April 30, 2007 - 11:02 AM

hey im new to the Kris Ralph from a small town in Newfoundland. i recently purchased a 2003 yz450f and im almost ready to sell it again. to start things off it leaks antifreeze out the weep hole in the water pump...when its at operation temp it seems fine and everytime u shut it of its dripes a dozen or so drips. next theres a white paste like oil/antifreeze mix commin from the vent on the head cover...that magnessium cover. its about 5 degrees celius here now but its really pissing me off ...i replaced the water pump seals and still this. someone help please before i sell it

• copstop450

Posted April 30, 2007 - 11:07 AM

ohh forgot to mention that i just did an oil change with new filter and all new coollent.

• BergArabia

Posted April 30, 2007 - 11:43 AM

Hey copstop.. Where you from in Newfoundland? East, West, North?
5 degrees is cold brrrrr...
I always have a little coolant come out of my bike from normal riding.
Just out the overflow. But nothing major. Top it up with a few mils everytime I start out.
Yours does sound a little strange though, I mean they do run hot but.. well anyways I hope you get it sorted and don't sell the bike because it is just too much fun..

• copstop450

Posted April 30, 2007 - 11:48 AM

yeah its furtest east in canada. ok i read that the white liquid commin out the vent is only condensation or something? bike was set up last 4 nites and the temperature was dipping down below 0 celcius so i guess thats nothing serious. but the leakin antifreeze is a pain in the but...always toping it up every day after a long ride

• Smokeslider

Posted April 30, 2007 - 06:26 PM

sounds like a bad waterpump shaft, mine did the same thing, he was weeping a bit and then she popped and dumped a bunch of coolant into the engine....take a look at that shaft and you might as well replace it while your in there..... Just some thoughts

• copstop450