WR426 v. YZ426...diff. bike, or same defects?

6 replies to this topic
  • YZ426_Kicks

Posted January 21, 2001 - 05:34 AM

Hey There!

My name is Randy, and I need some help. I have a 2000 YZ426 that I bought in August 2000, and with less than 7 clockable, non-competitive trail riding, they bike is completely useless. The clutch is completely gone, compliments of the apparent woes that have struck this model. Whereas I am no Yammie basher, and I do really like this bike, my confidence in Yamaha has been completely destroyed. I am trying to get them to resolve this issue with no success. Is the WR any different ( 2000 or 2001 model ) or are you all experiencing the same issues?

I enjoy my Yamaha, just not how Im being treated. Im trying to find the right replacement if it comes to that, and my choices aren't very good.

Any wisdom you can offer would be helpful. Im new to this sport, so knowledge isn't that great, and please take it easy on me in reply. The other side has beat me up tremendously!

Thanks!

Randy
YZ426 Kicks

• MN_Kevin

Posted January 21, 2001 - 05:51 AM

Randy,
Having raced 2-strokes in MX for many years, I just LOVED fanning the clutch. I would normally go into berms a gear high, then fan the crap out of the clutch on the way out. It worked great for me, and being a Honda, had a very bullet proof clutch. I would venture to guess you have been abusing the clutch. These bikes like the clutch for starting out, shifting clean and that is about it. My best advice is to swap out the clutch parts with a RECOMMENDED aftermarket setup, MAYBE a Hinson basket, and POSSIBLY gear it down one or two teeth on the rear sprocket. You'll have to do like I do, don't ride it like a 2-stroke Honda. These bikes are VERY RELIABLE and I AM a die hard Honda fan.

------------------
'99 WZ with all YZ mods, FMF PowerBomb header, Stroker SX-1 silencer, SS front brake line, forked over by Pro-Action, OEM YZ tank and IMS seat.

• YZ426_Kicks