Why does a WR have a 18" rear?

15 replies to this topic
  • bangmika

Posted April 21, 2007 - 10:27 PM

I was reading up in dirt rider about the new WR 450 and they said yamaha kept some of the goodies like the rear 18" rear wheel and bla bla. I'm relatively new to motoing so why is that a goodie as they say? What is the advantage to having a smaller tire in the rear rather than the bigger rear that the YZ sister has giving more clearance (or does it)? And on another question I have, in that same article they claimed that they kept the wide-ratio five speed. However on Yamahas website they advertise a constant mesh 5 speed for the 07 WR. Who had the facts straight yamaha or dirt rider? What does wide-ratio mean compared to the yz-f trans, and what in the world is a constant mesh transmission?

• dominator426

Posted April 22, 2007 - 12:05 AM

Most if not all manual transmissions are of the constant mesh type. The transmission gears are always in mesh and rotating, and not rigidly connected to the shafts. A wide ratio tranny's gears are more widely spaced, so there is more rpm drop when you shift up, but it offers more speed range with the same number of gears... So the WR has a constant mesh wide-ratio 5 speed transmission.
18 inch rear wheels use taller tires which are more forgiving and offer more traction in rough terrain, where the WR was intended to be operated. The 18 inch wheel/tire assembly is also heavier than the 19.

• WR_Dave

Posted April 22, 2007 - 04:55 AM