6 replies to this topic
  • BadhabitMX

Posted April 13, 2007 - 08:16 AM

Hey guys,
I am a college student, shopping for engines my school's FSAE team. FSAE is an international competition where students build and compete with their own formula style autocrosser. To get to the point, this year I am leading the engine team. Because of my previous knowledge with the WR/YZ line, I want to use one of these. It will most likely be highly modified (bored, stroked, ported, high compression, etc). My question is in regards to the transmission; I vaguely remember the WR having a wide ratio transmission, as opposed to the YZF's close ratio. Is this true/still true? If so, what years does that apply for? Also, if anyone knows the specs of the YFZ's tranny, that would be great.

Thank you!

• msgbean

Posted April 13, 2007 - 08:39 AM

All WR's have the wide ratio transmission. That's what WR stands for. If you want to know the exact specs for the YZ or WR tranny I would need to know the year of the engine you have in mind. The WR's have always had a five speed but some of the YZs have a four speed.

• ez__rider

Posted April 13, 2007 - 09:56 AM

The motors are indeed what makes these such sweet bikes, but is it really best for your application? very different from the 600cc F4i engines and the like... then again, you could potentially end up with a much lighter design.
just my 2 cents. good luck in whatever you decide!

if this is really the engine you choose, I think you found the right place!

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • BadhabitMX

Posted April 13, 2007 - 12:13 PM

Ah, now I feel ignorant... I knew that WR stood for wide ratio, or at least I used to. Thanks!