07 wr450f suspension

12 replies to this topic
  • lue

Posted March 27, 2007 - 09:01 PM

Hey there, I'm new to this. I need help with the suspension, I think it is too soft. Any mods I can do to it, or do I need to replace shocks and forks. I'm 235 lb

Thanks, Lue

• TyeeHusky

Posted March 28, 2007 - 05:29 AM

Have you worked with the shock adjusters? Start there first and if that does not do the trick you will probably need stiffer springs.

Adjust shock forks first with the adjuster screws. follow the manual and know what you are doing.

Front forks can have oil added to make stiffer.

Rear shock can have spring tightened to make stiffer / set sag.

If that fails it is new springs time

• SXP

Posted March 28, 2007 - 09:25 AM

Hey there, I'm new to this. I need help with the suspension, I think it is too soft. Any mods I can do to it, or do I need to replace shocks and forks. I'm 235 lb

Thanks, Lue

I'm 230 lbs and changed springs to Yamaha's 0.47 kg/mm in front and a RaceTech 6.0 kg/mm in the back. The recommended springs for my weight per most tuners websites are 0.48/5.6. I choose the lighter 0.47s in front as I really did not have a bottoming issue with the stock spring and didn't want to get pounded with a heavier spring, and the heavier 6.0 in the back as I couldn't set up my sag correctly with the 5.6 spring.

• Murray Dorward

Posted March 28, 2007 - 10:10 AM

Racetech's website recommends that you install a 0.49kg/mm up front (use a 0.50kg/mm) and a 5.8kg/mm spring in the back. Dont start playing with the settings untill you have installed the new springs and set up the rider sag. I weight in at 115kg (253lbs) and the standard springs are way to soft. I installed racetech springs and the bike handels like a dream.