Gearing and riding style

7 replies to this topic
  • yzfmerf

Posted March 27, 2007 - 08:28 PM

I ran the bike (06) stock for a while and then went to a 50 when i got the new chain. I seem to ride the whole track in 3rd gear now. Is this how most of you ride? Keep in mind this is my first 4 stroke and i am a vet beginner desperately trying to learn to go faster. I know jumping will come with confidence but i really want to get fast in the corners.

• Ranger18

Posted March 28, 2007 - 06:59 AM

I still have the 49 on my bike, but plan on putting the 50 tooth on in a few months. I also spend most of my time in third on a track, if its a tight turn I drop down to 2nd, or if it's a huge jump I go to fouth, but yah I'd say about 75% of my riding is done in third.

Posted March 28, 2007 - 07:11 AM

I race offroad on an 06 450 heres what i run....
For really tight races I run the stock gearing
Then for the normal local MRAN races I run either The stock front with a 45 in the rear or a 14 in the front and the stock rear.
Then for the faster BITD races I run a 14 in the front and a 45 in the rear, anything taller then this and the bike is just a dog down low.
Dont know if this will help you or not but just thought i would let you know.

• yzfmerf

Posted March 28, 2007 - 10:01 AM

I should have mentioned i ride MX type tracks almost exclusively. Thanks for the input though guys

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • grayracer513

Posted March 28, 2007 - 10:42 AM

IMO, gearing depends on the track layout as much as anything else. If all the corners are the same size, and the straights are short enough to run them in the same gear you run the corners in, then it's a one gear track. If there's more variety, then you'll need to shift more. The reasons you would change the gearing are if one or more of these conditions existed:

1> No gear is low enough (very unlikely on an MX track; gear lower)