Help with Dave's mods...please

16 replies to this topic
  • pianoexcellence

Posted March 21, 2007 - 08:47 PM

I just did Dave's mods on my 2004 xr 650l

I did the new jets (55\158) de-snorkeled it, and pulled the Baffle from the back
While in the carb, I also drilled the slider to 5\32.

When I put it all back together, I was noticing some popping when decellerating (using the engine as a brake) I think this is called afterburn...though I am not sure cause I'm pretty new at this. and I only rode for 10 minutes.

I did miss one step in the mods (the one with the washer for the pin) How crucial is that washer step. is the popping just really noisy because I took the baffle out?

Any replies would be greatly appreciated.:applause:

• Denn10

Posted March 21, 2007 - 09:02 PM

when you say decelerating do you mean let the throttle off completely or as you bring the throttle back its popping? If it pops when you let off completely the washer on the needle wont be it, that raises the needle so that it lets a little more fuel thru your main jet just a bit sooner than if it wasnt on there you kinda understand what im saying?

• adam574

Posted March 21, 2007 - 10:38 PM

popping on decel is a lean condition.. i am just the opposite of the other guy and thinking that washer you are missing would probably richen the bike up perfectly. or you could try the fuel screw and see if that does the trick but you already know you missed a step so just do the job right.

• pianoexcellence

Posted March 22, 2007 - 05:08 AM

Thanks guys.

The popping begins right as I let off of the gas, and stops when I reapply the throttle. I was definitely impressed with the low end power that these mods gave me...everytime I do something to my car I try to convince myself that it is actually faster...with the bike, it was absolutely obvious:applause:

thanks for explaining what the washer does. You're right, I need to get in there again, and put it in.

Where do I get the washer from? (home depot?)