"Brakes for Dummies" question

9 replies to this topic
  • drtbk4ever

Posted March 18, 2007 - 05:04 PM

Hey Gang,

I am a complete noob when it comes to brakes so please excuse my ignorance. I just finished greasing swingarm and linkage. After I put the rear wheel back on, I was checking the operation of the rear brake.

It seems the brake pads do not retract much after I let off the pedal. So I did numerous searches. I believe my issue is the calipers and seals have some dirt/mud clogged up there from last years rides.

Posted Image

This photo doesn't show the brake pads dragging, but it's the only photo I have of the rear brake.

So I did more searching and reviewed the manual and didn't find the answer so I'll ask you, in order to get to the calipers, do I HAVE to drain the brake fluid? I don't really want to have to replace the fluid and bleed the lines unless I really have to.

Any input is greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

• 450high

Posted March 19, 2007 - 12:56 AM

disk pads always rub.As long as you can spin the wheel it's o.k
dave

• drtbk4ever

Posted March 20, 2007 - 05:29 PM

disk pads always rub.As long as you can spin the wheel it's o.k
dave

Hi Dave, thanks for that info. I can still turn the wheel. I can understand the pads rubbing as it is a floating disk system. My concern was with the caliper pistons (I think they're called) not retracting much at all. I'm under the impression the caliper pistons would retract somewhat and the pads would float.

Am I incorrect in that assumption?

• racejmac

Posted March 20, 2007 - 07:26 PM

They should not travel as far as you think...

think about it for a minute... Long travel equates to longer stroke on the master cylinder witch is applied by the pedal...

If the wheel is hard to turn by hand that would suggesst and issue. If it spins okay with a little pad hiss... Your good... Go ride and analyze the terrain in front of you instead of the bike while it sits on a stand...:applause:

• drtbk4ever