offset races

11 replies to this topic
  • The Italian Stallion

Posted March 14, 2007 - 05:19 PM

With all this talk about the 06 07 yz450 front end push and with rake being the issue here not trail {although the 22mm offsets feel a little better IMO] does anyone make offset races for these bikes ? No there isn 't Why are the aftwrmarket companies snoozing here? This is a very popular machine that would be the best bike ever made if it turned a little better {and a little more bottom wouldn t hurt] I am a carpenter [Framer] I know F all about machining but i think offset bearings and races would not be that big a task to make.

• Huckster

Posted March 14, 2007 - 05:48 PM

I dont know about offset races, but I have been asking around and I found out that most guys who rode Yam's during the outdoor nationals used 22.5mm last year as did the Canadian Yamaha team.

• grayracer513

Posted March 14, 2007 - 07:27 PM

The group of pros who ran through a blind test with Applied chose 24mm as their favorite. Dubach also settled on that same offset.

Offsetting the races presents several interesting problems. First, you have to find a different set of bearings to use that will be enough oversized to allow them to be offset ground down to the right size for the steering head, and still have enough meat at the thinnest point of the outer race. The offset grinding has to be done on the outers because the upper inner bearing is a slip fit, and there's nothing to keep it indexed correctly.

That brings up problem #2; the offset bearing races have to be oriented in the frame head in exactly the right place, or the offset will begin to show up as out of vertical alignment, left to right.

You might dodge some of this if you could find a suitable bearing with an undersized bore at the inner, and do the whole offset bore thing on just that one, but you still have the index/alignment process just as carefully in pressing that one on the stem.