What should I check/replace on a new to me used bike?

10 replies to this topic
  • Vegemite_luva

Posted March 11, 2007 - 01:23 PM

I recently bought a used 2003 WR450F and now I am wondering what parts I should check for lubrication, adjustment, or replacement and in what order or priority. I plan on doing the following:

Replace all the fluids, tires
Clean/replace oil filters, air filter, spark arrestor
Check the plug, sprockets, chain tension, brake pads, intake valve clearance
Lube the chain, clutch cable, throttle cable

Can anyone recommend other things to have checked/replaced? For instance should I have the linkages and bearings greased? Pipe repacked? Spoke tension checked? I am on a tight budget so I want to do only the bare minimum and I will have to have my local bike shop do much of the work as I have little time or experience to do myself.

I also noticed that the front fork stanchions have a slight coating of oil. Does this mean my fork seals are shot or is this normal?

• MantecaMisfit209

Posted March 11, 2007 - 01:25 PM

check the spokes for tightness.

• woodsk

Posted March 11, 2007 - 06:42 PM

the '03's had and issue in the starter. Do a search for woodruff key and you will find lots of info. this would be the first thing to check, if it has not been replaced chances are it will fail and like most critical failures it will happen as far away from the truck as possible :applause:

• MN_Paul

Posted March 11, 2007 - 07:43 PM

change fork oil, repack all bearings in the rear suspension linkage and steering head

• Vegemite_luva

Posted March 12, 2007 - 05:48 AM

the '03's had and issue in the starter. Do a search for woodruff key and you will find lots of info. this would be the first thing to check, if it has not been replaced chances are it will fail and like most critical failures it will happen as far away from the truck as possible :applause: