Rotella T users

10 replies to this topic
  • norcal_hoss

Posted March 05, 2007 - 11:59 AM

Excuse me if this has been in another post but I looked back and do not see anything.
I have been running the 15-40 dino Rotella in my 07 450 since my first oil change, no problems at all love it for the price. Anyways I went and picked up a case at Sams club and it's a new formula. Its called Rotella T "triple protection" So I went on Shell Rotellas website and BAM right there in the first thread says "Triple protection in motorcycles" or something... One guys says the new formula is better than the old and others say the new formula is not good for our bikes. Here is a link to that thread. Im gonna run it see if it slippin or anything out of the norm but I change it after two rides so im gonna se what happens.
http://www.shellusse...page=1#Post3119

• NDC

Posted March 05, 2007 - 12:45 PM

Please keep us Rotella users posted!

I've been running it for 6 months now, with no problems....course I change it after every single ride, so maybe that has something to do with it.

• grayracer513

Posted March 05, 2007 - 12:55 PM

My concern is the same with Rotella as it always has been; shear stability. The oil was not formulated as a gear lubricant, although most diesels have gear driven injector pumps at the least. Such oils tend to get beat to death quite rapidly. A friend of mine sent a UOA of Rotella T 15w-40 that had sheared down to a 30 in less than 1000 miles of road riding. He had another sample of Amsoil MCF in the same motorcycle that still had its full new oil viscosity after over 3000 miles.