07 first rides

10 replies to this topic
  • mxdad32

Posted February 27, 2007 - 10:16 AM

Finally got the chance to ride my new bike. I had an 06 CRF450 last year and the YZ450f motor is way smoother. I love it. I am a top A vet in my area and was looking at droping down to a 250F with big bore kit but am glad I decided to try the YZF. The power is more like a 390 like one of the magazines said. The suspension is close but for me the front is a little soft. I bottom hard when slightly over-jumping in rythme sections and landing into the face of the next jump. I am about 175 without gear. Have any of you also found this top be true. I had the same problem with my CRF and went to .49 springs and 400cc oil volume. This is my first set of the new KYB forks and am not sure how it works with oil volume changes. I'm going to try adding 10cc and see what happens. I'm just looking for what others have done, andd yes I tried search several times but did not find and threads with answers from people at my weight and riding ability. Thanks in advance.

• grayracer513

Posted February 27, 2007 - 10:28 AM

The new Kayabas are similar in that they have a filled, sealed, and bled inner damper cartridge that is separated from the outer chamber oil volume. The outer volume oil has no damping function other than some of the bottoming resistance and, of course, the spring effect of the captive air mass above it, and is primarily a lubricant. They are a bit touchy about the outer oil volume. MXA took 10cc out to make the fork less harsh, and found they needed to put 5cc back. But try adding oil, nevertheless. You could also try a 5wt or a 7wt in the outer side only. Plan to completely dump at least the whole outer chamber oil charge unless you want to pay $27/qt for the OEM KYB fluid (Yamaha S1).

At your skill level, you may need to upgrade the stock suspension, as good as it is out of the box. Talk to a good suspension shop about springs.

• Ranger18