Help Please!

5 replies to this topic
  • Dart 400F

Posted February 25, 2007 - 03:35 PM

Hello all. I have a 99' 400F and I am very new to the 4 stroke scene. My problem is this. Last year when I would ride, it would cough and choke through the really heavy ridding but while cruising it seemed to run fine. Not sure if this is a jetting problem or a valve problem. When exiting a turn it doesn't want to run unless I keep the throttle up in the midrange (bogs at low RPM). The spitting and rough running previously mentioned would mainly happen while running through a long section of whoops or over rough terrain. Since purchasing I have installed a Boyseen Quickshot accl. pump cover, and I have put on an FMF titanium High Flo header paired with a Powercore IV exhaust. Could the problem be as simple as too much fuel caused by a sticky float in the carb? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank-you

• 642MX

Posted February 25, 2007 - 04:30 PM

I would start by removing and cleaning the carb.

• yamaha racing 230

Posted February 26, 2007 - 06:13 AM

yea i agree start by cleaning ure carb and adjust ure fuel screw if that dont help by a jd jet kit

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • ericyzf4

Posted February 26, 2007 - 06:26 AM

I had a '99 400 and a had the same problems. I started by cleaning the carb. This helped but did not cure the problem. I then went richer with the jetting, I have sold the bike and gave my notes to the guy who bought it, and do not remember the exact jetting I used. I would suggest using a JD jet kit. If your turn up the idle to keep it running, you are only covering up a jetting problem.

I also used an 8 oz heavier than stock flywheel. This gave it more tractible power when trail riding, or on hard packed MX tracks.