Rebuilding front shock...

6 replies to this topic
  • jataga

Posted February 22, 2007 - 08:39 AM

Ok, so I'm new to motocross riding (only been riding for about 2 months).

I purchased a 2001 YZ426 from a buddy of mine and then I bought some shocks off of ebay. after the first ride, they started to leak once i got back home. it is only the right shock that is leaking. Other than that, the bike runs excellent!

I am in the process of getting the owners manual that will show me how to do everything on my bike but until then, does anyone have a write-up on how to do this? Is it hard? I do all the work on my car so i am pretty mechanically inclined. The shocks are the stock shocks off of another 426.

thanks!

• JRAMBO

Posted February 22, 2007 - 08:47 AM

I am the same as you just Mechanically inclined and I did it a couple of times now its pretty easy.My fork just kept leaking though the lower part of the leg was dented.Sorry I don't have a right up for you though when you get your book it will show you I would check the bushings inside too some people have told me too replace those after some good time on them.

• mmbasa

Posted February 22, 2007 - 09:02 AM

Two fronts shocks?

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • BuckHopkins

Posted February 22, 2007 - 09:15 AM

I just finished doing mine for the first time, and it wasnt too difficult, wait till you get a factory service manual and follow the step by step instructions (with pictures!) also, the "special tool" you need to tear down the dampers.. save yourself 80 bucks and build one like the link below shows! i didnt do it myself, but thanks to Grayracer513 he put this link on.

http://motoman393.th.../cartridge.html