1993 xr650L Should I ????

9 replies to this topic
  • doublediesel

Posted February 19, 2007 - 11:04 AM

Need some opinions. Been looking at the XR boards. I have NO experience riding a dirtbike. Spent the last year on a Rancher Fourwheeler with my younger son, my older son has a Crf230 which he is doing well with. My younger son is ready to ride the Rancher on his own. So I'm looking for a bike. It will be a XR, but need a good deal. I'm 38, fat, 260lbs, about 6'1". Will never ride on the street. We have some tight trails but find we like to open up on the fire lanes and dirt. No jumps. The 230 woops my younger son and I (380lbs) total on the Rancher. Found a 93 Xr650L for $1400.00. Looks ok, relatively stock, I'm hoping it will last to the weekend when I can see it. Would this bike meet my needs? It's know its heavy and i'm not looking forward to lifting it, but the e-start has me spoiled. I have been told with my weight I may have to respring a xr250 or xr400? For flat trail riding, some tree dodging, will the 650L stock suspension be ok? I'm not looking to tear up the trails, more concerned about not tearing myself up! I know the XR's are bullet proof but anything specific to look for on these bikes? Is the 650L too big for my inexperinence and I need to look at a 250 or 400? The owner's sure seem to like them all! Sorry so long.

Thanks

• GIANTac1

Posted February 19, 2007 - 12:57 PM

I think you will be just fine with the XR650L. I am 5' 8" and pick my bike up with no problem, even up hill! It is a low maintenance bike as long as you do the maintenance. I wouldnt worry about the supension as long as all the seals are good. Like you said its just gonna be a trail bike and no "pucker factor" jumps. I jumpes on my Xr after not riding for years.......it was like I never missed a step. Get it! Ride it!

• creeky

Posted February 19, 2007 - 01:30 PM