got a "new" 03 yz450, many questions

3 replies to this topic
  • hammer940

Posted February 18, 2007 - 09:59 AM

I'm new to the thread and was hoping you guys could help. I bought a 03 yz450. Its my first 4 stroke and I'm looking to get back into racing after a long absence. It will be about 50% track and trail. What do I do about the tall first gear? How should I change the gearing so 1st isint so wide and stalls so easily on tight nasty trails? It has ti FMF powerbomb with Ti4 muffler. It pops really bad (loud) when engine braking. Is this normal or a jetting problem. Supposedly the dealer I bought it from checked the valves. How reliable are these motors? And finally, where online can I get a printable manual? Ive looked and looked, and dont have the money to buy one.
Thanks ahead of time, and man these things rip!!!!!!!

• Jaycycle

Posted February 18, 2007 - 10:04 AM

1. A flywheel weight is highly recommended with the 03's. It will help greatly with staling in 1st.

2. Its a jetting problem, its running lean. Someone else can help you from there.

3. These motors are pretty tuff. I think you will be pleased.

4. Not sure... But I'll look.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Jaycycle

Posted February 18, 2007 - 10:09 AM

Try this... http://www.yamaha-mo...3&lid=2&mid=166

• flintlock28

Posted February 18, 2007 - 12:24 PM

The 03' is virtually bulletproof, if you change the oil/oil filter religiously, and keep the air filter clean.