North Carolina Newbie Here!

5 replies to this topic
  • JaysDirtyRide

Posted February 03, 2007 - 06:26 AM

Hi All,

I have ridden and raced motorcycles (primarily dirt bikes) since I was 6 years old. I sold my last bike when my daughter was born 14 years ago.

After years of pestering and prodding, my wifey finally relented and agreed that a dirt bike would be cool. After a 2-week search, the Yamaha dealership finally received an '07 WR450, put it together, filled it with fluids and handed me the bike and manual.

I am a happy man.:ride: :ride:

I've completed the very basics as far as de-restricting goes...throttle stop, AIS removal, airbox horn removal.

I've been reading all I can on carb adjustments after making these changes and I'm looking at the GYTR 96db muffler. I'm familiar with this forum format and I'm currently working my way through the sticky posts.

I'd appreciate any advice you can give on next steps and I'd enjoy getting together for some rides. I live in northwest Charlotte (Mountain Island Lake) and have not ridden any of the parks/trails in the area.

Thanks again!

-Jay

• clark4131

Posted February 03, 2007 - 07:33 AM

Once you get it running right, the biggest thing you can do is get your suspension dialed in. My advice is to do your springs first, get your clickers set and if that doesn't get you where you need to be, then get into valving. Springs ought to run about $200 for the front and rear combined. Along with that, you may want to think about a steering damper, another $400. Just so you know, WR stands for "Wallet Raper" :ride:...Welcome Aboard...SC

• JaysDirtyRide

Posted February 04, 2007 - 06:14 PM

Thanks.

I've been sweating the carb access to install a new adjustable needle and new pilot jet.

After I finish the re-jetting and button it back up...I'll ride for a while and sort out the suspension.

Wallet Raper...aren't they all?

-Jay