07 WR 450 forks

4 replies to this topic
  • Jeff_Steckline

Posted February 03, 2007 - 06:03 AM

I have rode 650 miles in three weeks on my new WR and love it. I'm a expert desert racer but also love to ride the technical trees. The forks were way to soft in the low speed stuff but worked great in high speed chop. I love the inital stroke but after that I'm bottoming out fairly easy. So, we thought before gold valves or heaver springs we would try and shim them. That has helped, I don't feel like I'm riding such a big girl through the woops but now it's just stiff through the whole stroke. O.K, I am 190 pounds came from a YZ 450 and want my forks to feel as responsive as my 06 YZ did.
Funny thing is, all I've heard about this bike is all the stuff you need to take off, to make it fast. I will do that soon, but I feel like the bike is close to my YZ except the forks. Please, any info would be much appreciated. Time to ride dirty. Jeff S

• Murray Dorward

Posted February 05, 2007 - 07:05 AM

The YZ450F '07 comes out with 0.48kg/mm front fork springs stock while the WR450 '07 comes out with 0.46kg/mm stock. I managed to get YZ450 '07 springs from Racetech but you have to have a 10mm spacer made up at your local engineering works as the stock springs measure at 460mm long on the WR and the YZ springs are 450mm long. The rear shock springs are the same size. You should try going up to a 0.48kg/mm front fork springs as this will then be the same set up as your '06 YZ.

Good luck

:ride: :ride: :ride:

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • atkinse

Posted February 05, 2007 - 11:29 AM

Muz and I did ours at the same time, well worth the effort. Bike handles better than anything I have ever riden.

• Jeff_Steckline

Posted February 06, 2007 - 05:04 AM