wr450 athena big bore

4 replies to this topic
  • ukuhunta

Posted February 02, 2007 - 09:50 PM

i put the big bore kit on my 450 that already has hotcams. a sweet pipe. super moto tired smaller sprcoket. etc. got a super good mechanic but had a problem. i had about 15 hours on it and was ripping it about 70 and something broke. turns out it was the bottom half of the piston blew up and thankfully didnt do any damage to nothing. they both say piston malfunctoin and of course the company says nothing. well a good thing came out of it for sure is that they have good friends that drag race these bikes and have had similiar probs with their kits and have detroyed blocks. so they have started to bore out the kits even more and inserted steel sleeves to so that the thing can handle the power and also using wiseco pistons which seem to be stronger. now im now a mechanic, i just love to ride my bike super fast. i drag race my bike as well and won two races last year stock with just a pipe and supermoto wheels. went 13.5 at 96mph and now were thinking mid 12's. ill keep you all posted. anyone else have anything to add about athena or anything related it would be appreciated for sure........thanks

• Hot Rod Todd

Posted February 02, 2007 - 10:03 PM

so, don't get a athena eh! whats getting you the big power?

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed

Posted February 03, 2007 - 07:07 AM

I just ordered an Athena high compression, have you heard of them having problems?

• bearwash

Posted February 03, 2007 - 07:46 PM

Did you happen to get the 1/8 mile time?

• ukuhunta

Posted February 04, 2007 - 08:35 PM