installed the EKP needle, position 3
from 1.5 to 1.75 turns out
removed snorkel
installed uni filter
reduced accel pump spray to .3 sec
changed the oil, used stock paper element,
installed correctly, and filled with Mobil 1 MX4T
I still have the stock exhaust - not modified

This overheating problem occured after a 2 minute warm-up and several 1st and 2nd gear laps around the yard.
I respect the opinions of the guys on this site and would appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks - Clay06

• mcarp

Posted January 12, 2002 - 09:28 AM

Clay,I'm not a DR expert, but you've made waaay too many modifications at one time! It sounds like you did some research, though to come up with what you did. Please tell us, how did the bike run? Did it sound different? Did you notice more power, what was happening with the throttle position and pulling ability?

Couple things to check, hopefully some others may have some more suggestions.

--Air filter-Did you oil it and is it sealing well? That could cause an overly lean condition.

--Air leaks? Everything on nice and tight? I like to use Honda Bond4, a fuel resistant sealing "goop" on the carb instake/boots. Also grease teh air filter lip that touches the airbox.

- Did you clean the carb really well before installing the new jets? Mine gets dirty fast.

- If you did take it apart, did you handle the float roughly at all? Could be far out of adjustment?

If all above checks out--

--Clip position? Try #4. (from the top of the needle)
-- Larger main jet?

-Put ait lid back on to see if there's a huge difference? If so, further rejet to compensate.

Not to say there's some other things to check for. I'm just not super familiar with the DR.

Often doing drastic changes like you did caused some other problem, but I'msure you can fix it and realize the best perforamnce by switching to more agressive jeeting and pulling out some of the corks :)