Buck, I noticed you live in Michigan...

6 replies to this topic
  • Pooley

Posted January 10, 2002 - 04:37 PM

I have been looking for good places to ride in MI without having to drive at least 2+ hours. Where do you normally ride, and do you need a riding partner? I am a slow rider since I'm still a rookie. I live in Canton about 15 minutes away from Ypsi.

• olson_jr

Posted January 12, 2002 - 04:14 AM

Pooley, looks like were neighbors as I am in the Canton, Mi. area also. Unfortunatley for us that means we are going to drive at least two hours to trail ride. The only way to ride in less than two hours is to drive to Gladwin faster or ride at one of the MX tracks in the area. At this time of year the indoor track at Prosource Suzuki is our only option. It is really short course, about 1/4 mile, in a big old dusty, smokey, pole barn BUT it is open during the frigid winter months and it is only 50 miles from Canton. You can learn the track quickly and then work on all the things you need to do to get around quicker, body (weight) position, throttle control, braking etc. I had knee surgery this fall and gave the indoor track a try because I wasn't sure how my knee would hold up. I didn't want to drive two or three hours up north, get 10 miles down a trail and then find out my knee was giving out so I tried ProSource.
There is also a place in Ohio near the border that has an open riding area but I have never tried it. You can find the directions at the District 14 AMA site.

http://www.ama-d14.o...lacestoride.htm

ProSource is at www.prosourcesuzuki.com

• sledge_57

Posted January 12, 2002 - 07:24 PM

Hey guys, I'm also in the area, Dearborn Hts and my bro is in Redford Twp. We bought a pair of 2000 WR400's in October.