06 KX 250 Suspension Settings

18 replies to this topic
  • DW1972

Posted January 24, 2007 - 10:02 AM

Need some help with the clickers, I weigh roughly 180 with all my gear on and I have checked the sag and it is within spec. The front end of my bike feels like it wants to push and not track, the rear end feels nervous. Although I have ridden dirt bikes since I was a kid I am relatively new to riding mx and any kind of suggestions with clicker settings would be most appreciated.

• PaiNLeSS

Posted January 24, 2007 - 10:21 AM

Need some help with the clickers, I weigh roughly 180 with all my gear on and I have checked the sag and it is within spec. The front end of my bike feels like it wants to push and not track, the rear end feels nervous. Although I have ridden dirt bikes since I was a kid I am relatively new to riding mx and any kind of suggestions with clicker settings would be most appreciated.

Funny, when I get on the 2006 KX250 I feel nervous. Welcome back to riding, DW1972! It's impossible to get the bug outa your system, is it not?

There's nothing bad or inherently wrong with you KX's suspension. That should be good news to you. But if your up to spending about $200, get the 5.0 shock spring and the .42 fork springs and after setting the sag set your fork rebound at 9 out, compression at 12 out. Shock rebound at 8 out, high speed adjuster at 2 turns out, and the compression at about 14 out.

Those numbers will get you close enough to tweak a small amount for your personal preferences.

• DW1972

Posted January 24, 2007 - 05:54 PM

Thanks, really appreciate the help. I have a birthday coming up and now I know what I will be asking for.

• KX02

Posted January 24, 2007 - 08:48 PM