Jetting for XR650L

4 replies to this topic
  • pjpoo

Posted January 22, 2007 - 09:09 AM

1994, smog equipment removed, pod filter (sock type uni), white bros full exhaust (not sure exactly which model), mostly run at 2500'

PO says he has a 58 main jet in the bike. Recommended a 50 main jet with a long pilot.

I do know the bike stumbles hard in the mid-range and a little in the low range. Backfires and kicks out smoke on downshifting. It can completely die on deceleration. My supermoto also runs just as bad at sea level and smells rich behind me, or so I'm told. :lol:

Recommendations? A baseline would help as I've never done this before.

• cleonard

Posted January 22, 2007 - 11:15 AM

1994, smog equipment removed, pod filter (sock type uni), white bros full exhaust (not sure exactly which model), mostly run at 2500'

PO says he has a 58 main jet in the bike. Recommended a 50 main jet with a long pilot.

I do know the bike stumbles hard in the mid-range and a little in the low range. Backfires and kicks out smoke on downshifting. It can completely die on deceleration. My supermoto also runs just as bad at sea level and smells rich behind me, or so I'm told. :lol:

Recommendations? A baseline would help as I've never done this before.

I reccomend that you put the air box back in. Removing it really changes the required jetting a lot. Generally with a pod filter you can gain at the top end, but the low and mid suffer. It is very difficlut to get a CV carb to run right on a pod style air filter. They really need that slight vacuum that the airbox provides.