A Few Questions... If I May

14 replies to this topic
  • dbleon

Posted January 16, 2007 - 10:38 PM

I just had a couple questions I need adressed by the experts (or anyone for that matter)...

1. I have a wr426 and I'm running a yz tank. I hate running out of gas because some is stuck on the right side... so, can i run a right side petcock? If so... any tutorials or how to's? Does it hurt to run the petcock on reserve all the time?
2. What spark plugs are you guys running? Irridium?
3. Can anyone pull a spark plug on the trail on these machines? I have to remove the tank = pain in the a**!

Thanks for any and all input!

• dbleon

Posted January 17, 2007 - 10:10 AM

Anyone...please???

• WGP

Posted January 17, 2007 - 10:38 AM

I'm no expert but.....

You can can run a petcock on the otherside of the tank, just buy a petcock valve, drill out a hole for it (probably want to make sure you don't blow yourself up) and install. Ziptie it so it doesn't hit your red hot pipe. It would probably help to see one that already has 2 like the Ascerbis for the WR450's.
No, it does not hurt to run on reserve, do you want to run out before you run out or just run out:crazy:

If you carry the tools....you can pull the plug? But Why?

• ausgeflippt13

Posted January 17, 2007 - 10:38 AM

I see no problems with running off of reserve all the time, but when you run outta gas, you're outta gas. That's why most run with it on and then turn it to reserve once outta gas. It's saved my ass on more than a couple instances.

I'm sure you could run the petcock over to the other side; you'd need to make a new hole and you could simply JB Weld it to the other side or something of the like...or you could just remember to refill the bike before riding, or at least check the fuel level...Seems like a lot of work for not really a good enough reason to me.