New owner of XR650L

10 replies to this topic
  • paul246

Posted January 13, 2007 - 01:14 PM

I'm new to the dual sport category of ownership having just one "short" season on my new XR650L. I love the bike but am a bit frustrated with the overly lean carb settings. It got to the point that I couldn't even get the bike to start in sub zero temps (I still wanted to commute with it) in the latter part of the riding season. Full choke still wasn't rich enough to get the engine to start.

So, I've been looking around this site and have seen mention of the Edelbrock carb. Looks like the answer, but it is rather expensive, perhaps even drastic.

Before taking the plunge and ordering the Edelbrock I would like to hear of any recommendations of steps you would take before ordering one of these carbs. Also, are these Edelbrock carbs really that good?

• Phuzzy McPhuzzface

Posted January 13, 2007 - 01:18 PM

I'm new to the dual sport category of ownership having just one "short" season on my new XR650L. I love the bike but am a bit frustrated with the overly lean carb settings. It got to the point that I couldn't even get the bike to start in sub zero temps (I still wanted to commute with it) in the latter part of the riding season. Full choke still wasn't rich enough to get the engine to start.

So, I've been looking around this site and have seen mention of the Edelbrock carb. Looks like the answer, but it is rather expensive, perhaps even drastic.

Before taking the plunge and ordering the Edelbrock I would like to hear of any recommendations of steps you would take before ordering one of these carbs. Also, are these Edelbrock carbs really that good?

Read about Dave's Mods. Worked like a charm, for me. :lol:

• kelleyseiler

Posted January 13, 2007 - 03:09 PM

http://www.violetinf...m/davesmods.wmv

Here is the video of what to do. It has helped many many people with the same problem.

• oldKTMer

Posted January 13, 2007 - 03:21 PM